Source: E. C. Kropp Co., Milwaukee.
Barour School opened in 1916 and is named after Rockford educator C. F. Barbour. The new Barbour School (Pictured
below) is the home of the Dual Language Immersion Program.
Source: Morning Star April 21,1935 pg.24
Source: Ebay Image
Addresses, Alcohol, Architecture, Business, Celebrities, Clubs, Dance and dancers, General, Hotels, Liquor, Music and Musicians, People
Car barn building, 128 Kishwaukee St., south side of the building, on First Ave.
Car barn building, 128 Kishwaukee St., southwest side of the building
Car barn building, 128 Kishwaukee St., north side of the building (from East State St.)
Taken from the East State Street side, facing south, Dec. 5, 2020
Sources: First three photos, www.google.com/maps, images captured May 2019, the fourth photo taken by Jean Lythgoe, December 5, 2020
Source: Rockford Register Star, May 1, 1995. Photo: Google.com. image captured May 1029
Sources: Photo: Photo Gravere Views, 1893; Map: Sanborn Atlas, 1913-1928 [Note that North Street is later Park Ave.]; Article: “Lincoln School Third Hospital,”
Rockford Daily Register-Gazette, October 11, 1918, p.5. In October, 1918, it was one of three emergency hospitals during the Spanish flu pandemic, along with the Boys’ Club and the Knights of Columbus building on N. Main St. Lincoln was renamed Benjamin Franklin School in 1926, when Abraham Lincoln Middle School was built on Charles Street.
Source: Daily Register Gazette August 29, 1913 pg.7
Source: Northwest Quarterly, Autumn/Holiday 2019, v.16, no.5
Source: Rockford Morning Star, Sept. 26, 1959.
Skandia Hardware building from google.com (image captured May, 2019). Skandia Hardware sign is still
visible in window left center. The business closed in September of 1959.
Rockford Today 1904, The Rockford Morning Star, The Clark Company Press, 1903, p. 81.
327-329 Seventh Street
Source: Google Images, May 2019.
Source: Rockford Register Star September 23, 2019