Source: “Picturesque and Descriptive History of the City of Rockford” Compiled by Fred C. Pierce
Printed at the Daily Gazette Establishment 1887
Source: The Voice of the Rockford Business Community (Chamber of Commerce) October 2019
Source: Northwest Quarterly, Spring-Summer 2019
On May 11, 1877, while this court house was still under construction, the central dome collapsed without warning killing ten workman and
seriously injuring ten more. Henry L. Gay, the architect, was ruled responsible because of flaws in his building plans. Nevertheless, the building
was completed in 1878.
In the front central circle can be seen the statue of the soldier who now guards the entrance to Memorial Hall on Wyman Street.
Source: Rockford To-day 1904, The Rockford Morning Star, The Clark Company Press, 1903.
Source: The Voice; of the Rockford Business Community, June 2018. Rockford Chamber of Commerce.
Source: Jeff Aulik, researcher
Designed by Wybe Van Der Meer, architect, for M. D. Taylor in 1927. Van Der Meer was best known for being the architect of many Catholic churches and schools in Rockford and in other cities in No. Illinois. He also designed many homes in the area.
From Special Secion of Rockford Register Star Newspaper, 12/5/1999
*Barloga designed houses and commercial buildings in many other Illinois cities and in Wisconsin, including a fraternity at Beloit College.
Township High School, Rock Falls, IL Architect: Ray Orput
Donor of photo: Jeff Aulik
2623 Highcrest Rd. – Wybe Van Der Meer, architect – designed 1926
Source: Jeff Aulik
Source: old yearbook, found and sent by Jeff Aulik