“Army Officer Inspects Site” – later Camp Grant, 5-28-1917

Army Officer

Source: Rockford Daily Register-Gazette May 28, 1917

 

See also http://www.abandonedrails.com  for more information about the Chicago, Milwaukee and Gary Railroad

Main St., So., 102

Lawler and Keeler (Col. Thos. G. Lawler and E.H. Keeler) Dealer in hard and soft coal, wood and coke. Offices 102 S. Main, 919 W. State and 109 E. State

Source: 1889-1890 Rockford City Directory

Holland, Ferguson and Co., Knapp, Barnes and Co., P.B. Thomas, Miss M.E. Garmory, W.C. Stevens D.F. Sullivan, R. K. Welsh

Source: 1905 Rockford City Directory

Commercial Club – 1891

“Commercial Club, formed the present year and already domiciled in a handsome home on North Main St. in the stylish residence portion of the city.  Their club house possesses perhaps the handsomest interior in the town, the decorations alone costing $3,000.  The membership includes fifty or more of the young business men of the city, who find the club residence a very convenient and attractive spot in which to entertain friends from other cities.  The Club is quite a social one and there is a ladies’ reception night each week. The officers are: O. Trahern, President; E. H. Keeler, Vice-President; Paul F. Schuster, Secretary and Treasurer.”

Source: “Industrial and Picturesque Rockford,” by Eugene Browne and F. Ford Rowe, 1891

1892 Philippi;s Rockford City Directory lists as meeting at 203 No. Main St.