Streets Re-Named, 1886

Source: Rockford Register, September 21, 1886

Rockford Female Seminary

Rockford Female Seminary

“The Rockford Seminary is collegiate in character, and bears the title on account of the popularity of that title forty year ago when the Seminary was founded.  The location of the Seminary on high ground in East Rockford, commanding a full view of the pretty Forest City and the shining waters of the romantic Rock River , are such as to commend it as a health resort.  The seminary is not a denominational school, yet it is strictly a Christian school.  Its buildings, as will be seen by engravings in another part of this book, are extensive brick buildings, in the midst of a grove of oak and hickory trees, covering in all ten acres in extent.  The Seminary is very popular , and numbers among its pupils each year students from all over the United States.  One of the features which has done much to build up the popularity of the school with parents is the fact that the health of the pupils is carefully looked after.  This is done by a comprehensive system of training in the gymnasium , run under the Sargent rules now in vogue in Harvard University.”

“Board of Trustees: Professor Joseph Emerson, D.D., Preseident, Beloit Wisconsin; G.A. Sanford, Esq., Vice-President, Rockford; Thomas D. Robertson, Esq. Treasurer, Rockford, William A. Talcott, Esq., Secretary, Rockford.”

“Executive Committee—Hon. Wm. Lathrop, Chairman, Sarah F. Anderson, Secretary, Wm. A. Talcott, Esq., Mrs. Seely Perry, John Barnes, Esq., Henry H. Robinson, Esq.”
Source of picture and text: “Industrial and Picturesque Rockford, ” by Eugene Browne and F. Ford Rowe, 1891.