“The Rockford Driving Club was organized in the early spring of 1891, with Frank G. Smith, President, H. H. Palmer, Vice-President, C.C. Jones, Secretary, and George L. Woodruff, Treasurer. The club owns magnificent grounds, embracing seventy acres, and have laid out a kite-shaped mile track that is pronounced the best and fastest in the west with one exception. The park contains an amphitheatre seating seating three thousand persons, and all the appointments are patterned from the most approved racing courses in the world. The clubs gives at least two trotting meetings each year, and offers liberal purses. The grounds are easily accessible by electric cars or the St. Paul road, lying just north of the city limits.”
Source: page 13, “Industrial and Picturesque Rockford,: by Eugene Browne and F. Ford Rowe, 1891.