W.F. and John Barnes – 1962 article “Barnes’ Talent Founded Firm”

Source:  Rockford Morning Star and Rockford Register-Republic “Century Plus 10” Special Edition, March 1962

 

Rockford, Rock Island and St. Louis Railroad Company – 1870

R Tinker - 1

R Tinker - 2

Source:  Rockford Weekly Register-Gazette Mar. 19, 1870

Main St., North, 721

 

Patrick Horan, laborer, bds.

Source: 1880 Rockford City Directory

John S. Barnes student Miss Elizabeth Barnes Miss Harriet Barnes, student Lance, Miss Anna, domestic, 721 N. Main

Source: 1899 Rockford City Directory

John Barnes home

Source: 1914 Rockford City DirectoryJohn Barnes

721 North Main St.

Source: Rockford [1893] R 917.733 R59

Purchased by Tebala Shrine after Barnes’ death converted to apartments.

Source: Rockfordiana – Historic Houses and Landmarks – 1 & Rockford Register Republic 9/5?/1951

W. F. and John Barnes Company – 1891

W.F. and John Barnes Co.  The business was first established in 1871, and the present corporation formed in 1884.  The officers are W. Fletcher Barnes, President; B. Frank Barnes, Vice-President; and John Barnes, Secretary and Treasurer.  Their buildings are located at the corner of Water and Oak Streets, in East Rockford, and the company manufacture foot, hand, steam power machinery for wood and iron working; lathes, drills, saws, emery grinders, and varies specialties. They have and average of 175 employes on their pay roll. Their main building is of brick, four stories high.  The company occupy a total of nearly an acre of floor area.

Source: “Industrial and Picturesque Rockford,” Eugene Browne and F. Ford Rowe, 1891.

W.F. and John Barnes Co. factory – 1891

WF and John Barnes Co. 1891

W.F. & John Barnes Co.; W.F. Barnes, prest; B. Frank Barnes, vice-prest; John Barnes, secy. and treas. Machine shops. Manufacturers of foot and steam power, iron and woodworking machinery. 301 – 309 S. Water St.  Text source: 1892 Philippi’s Rockford City Directory

Source of rendering: “Industrial and Picturesque Rockford,” by Eugene Browne and F. Ford Rowe, 1891

 

 

 

Main St., North, 721

Main St., North, 721

Residence of John Barnes, 721 No. Main St.,   1894 Rockford City Directory, photograph from “1902 Rockford Illinois” by Wheat, page 79.

The house was purchased in the 1890’s and rebuilt by Barnes, sec’y and treas. of W.F. and John Barnes Co., Source: 1894 – 1914 Rockford City Directories.

According to an article in the Rockford Register Republic, dated Sept. 20, 1951, the house was built by a family called the Williams.  After the Barnes family purchased it in the 1890’s, it was rebuilt.  Purchased by the Tebala Shrine after the death of Mr. and Mrs. Barnes, the home was converted into apartments.  The article was titled “Era’s Passing is Noted Here on North Main; Mansions of Industrial Pioneers to Give Way to New Store Project”

i.e. North Main St. Sears.