W.F. and John Barnes Co. The business was first established in 1871, and the present corporation formed in 1884. The officers are W. Fletcher Barnes, President; B. Frank Barnes, Vice-President; and John Barnes, Secretary and Treasurer. Their buildings are located at the corner of Water and Oak Streets, in East Rockford, and the company manufacture foot, hand, steam power machinery for wood and iron working; lathes, drills, saws, emery grinders, and varies specialties. They have and average of 175 employes on their pay roll. Their main building is of brick, four stories high. The company occupy a total of nearly an acre of floor area.
Source: “Industrial and Picturesque Rockford,” Eugene Browne and F. Ford Rowe, 1891.