Rockford Art Museum – 1928, 186 Compete

R.A.M. 186

Source: Rockford Register Gazette June 18, 1928

Main St., No., 328 – Barnes Flats

Barnes Flats

Barnes Flats, 328 No. Main., drawing by architect D. S. Shureman, picture from “Industrial and Picturesque Rockford,” by Eugene Browne and F. Ford Rowe, 1891.

Apartments were built and existed there until August 1927 at least. The Coronado Theater building opened in Oct. 1927, with 16 apartments with Murphy beds, 320-322 No. Main St.

Barnes Apartments

Source: Rockford Daily Register Gazette August 13, 1927.

In 1935 City Directory, the Park Avenue Shop was located in 328-330 No. Main St.

“B. F. Barnes probably was the first person to build a flat [apartment] building [in Rockford], his structure still being known as the Barnes flats, at Main street and Park avenue.  In the years since these were constructed and offered for rent, little advance has been made and they stand now as good as any of the later structures.”  Source: “Flats Becoming More Numerous,”  Rockford Morning Star July 1, 1906

“Oscar Wilson Buys N. Main St. Property; Printer to Covert Lower Story of Barnes Flats Into Store and Move Shops to N. Main and Park Ave.”  Rockford Republic newspaper June 8, 1923  “Oscar F. Wilson, president and manager of Wilson Printing Co., Church and Chestnut sts., has purchased the Barnes Flats at the southwest corner of N. Main st. and Park ave., of E.W. and Florence Engstrom through the Knapp Barnes realty firm.”

All kinds of lumber

Sale ad: Rockford Morning Star May 26, 1926