Robert Rew – 1873 High School Graduation

Robert Rew

Source:  Rockford Weekly Gazette July 3, 1873

**Rockford had a high school on the east and the west side in the 1800’s.  Then the Rockford High School, also known as Central was built and grew to 4 buildings, with some classes taught in the building across the street. In 1940 the current Rockford East High School and the Rockford West High School were built.

City of Rockford Mayors – 2002

Mayors of Rockford

Source: Sesquicentennial Calendar

Rockford Public Library – gifts

RPL cabinet photographs sm

“Fine Gift For the Library; Collection of Cabinet Photographs of 91 First Settlers of the County. Frank L. Lake the Donor. Old Time Photographer Here Secured Exhibit Over Two Score Years Ago,”

“Some two score years ago the late George W. Barnes, then a local photographer, conceived the idea of securing the photographs of the first settlers of Winnebago county, the pioneers who by hard work, industry and self denial, cleared out forests, ploughed our prairies, and out of the wilderness carved a civilized community.”

“For years this group picture adorned the Barnes gallery on South Main street, and when Mr. Barnes retired from business, the group passed into the possession of his successor, A.N. Rockstead. The late John Lake discovered the framed group in the Rockstead gallery, recognized its value to posterity as the only group of first settlers known to exist, and purchased same.”

“With Mr. Lake’s death the group descended to his son, Frank L. Lake, and the latter, realizing that such a possession really belonged to Rockford and should be kept as en enduring monument in some local public institution, empowered his attorney, Robert Rew, to make presentation of same to the public library board of the city, Mr. Rew having been identified with this board.”

“Mr. Rew forwarded to President O.F. Barbour of the library board…..”

Source: Rockford Daily Register Gazette September 9, 1913